TBR Tuesday – 4/2/13

Soooo, I read way more than I planned to in March, which means I am ahead of schedule and get to read some exciting books very very soon. I am looking forward to what I have planned to read in April.

Currently in my TBR Pile:

As usual, I’ve got a monthly book club reading assignment, along with the other books I want to read. I’m still trying to catch up on books to read before Teen Book Con, and continue with all my reading challenges for 2013. This month, I’m trying to read a couple more debuts (it helps that I’m super effing excited about them). Asti may want to note that I have chosen to read The Book Thief this month, which was on her list of the top books she recommends. ;)

Some Sing, Some Cry by Ntozake Shange & Ifa Bayeza YA Novel: Arclight by Josn L. McQuein The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

So, depending on how things go, and if judging by last month is any indication, I might very well read more than this. However, I like to keep the goal reasonable, and not get too ahead of myself, so I’m sticking with five.

Reading Challenge Progress

My books this month will… sort of push more toward some reading challenge goals.

  • Some Sing, Some Cry will count toward square B4 for Book Bingo.
  • The Book Thief will count toward square G3 of Book Bingo.
  • Arclight, The Fire Horse Girl, and Mila 2.0 will all go toward square N5 for Book Bingo.
  • Arclight and Mila 2.0 get added to my list for the Debut Author Challenge.

Not much toward my Seriously Series challenge this month, but that’s okay. I’m crossing off two debuts, and one book I’ve been meaning to read for years!

25 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday – 4/2/13

    • Yes, I try to read only books that look interesting. ;) Although sometimes the choices from my book club members are not already the best (like last month with East of Eden, ugh).

    • Yes, I’m excited about all of those books! I can’t wait to see what you think of them too. Yeah, I’ve been surprised at the range of reviews for Mila 2.0; those usually worry me, too. I guess we’ll find out soon enough. :)

  1. Great list. I enjoyed Mila 2.0 but its not five star for me, I have a feeling it would make a great film though as its so action packed. The Book Thief is very high on my TBR list as well, maybe May. Don’t know Some Sing Some Cry but I love the name and cover, will be interested in finding out more about it when you review.

    • Yeah, I’ve seen mixed reviews for Mila 2.0 but I’m still excite to read it. Some Sing, Some Cry is the pick for my book club this month. I don’t think it’s one I would have chosen for myself, but it does seem interesting enough. We’ll see. :)

  2. I just finished Mila 2.0 and it was phenomenal! Definitely read that if you’re looking for a fast-paced but really personal and relateable book :D Mila is an incredibly fleshed out and realistic character.

  3. REALLY hope you enjoy Arclight and Mila 2.0! Those two have been getting more mixed reviews lately, so I’m looking forward to what you think. Also, that cover for Some Sing, Some Cry is gorgeous. I love the way the title’s all colorful – so unique!

    • Oh man, mixed reviews for Arclight, too? I loved it from the beginning, but I’m at a point now that could swing my opinion either way. I’m hoping for positive! I love the cover for Some Sing, Some Cry too — and for that same reason. :)

  4. LOVED Fire Horse Girl. Some hate Arclight, some love it. I’m really curious to see your reviews on all of these. MILA 2.0 is on my end table, ready to be read as well. Have fun reading this month!

    • Dang, I haven’t seen many reviews for Arclight yet, and now you’re making me worry! I’m about 3/4 of the way through it and I’m starting to wonder if I’ll love it in the end as much as I did in the beginning. Fingers crossed. I can’t wait to read Fire Horse Girl and Mila 2.0! :)

  5. Yay The Book Thief! I’m so excited for you to read it. Hopefully you love it as much as I did – just be prepared for possible tears! I haven’t read any of the other books so I look forward to seeing what you have to say. I can always count on you to add to my TBR list ;)

So, what do YOU think?