Teaser Tuesday – The Dark and Hollow Places

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week, my teaser comes from The Dark and Hollow Places. Note that this is the third and final installment in the Forest of Hands and Teeth series, so I’ll try not to be spoilerific in my teaser. YEs, I’ve finally picked up this book so I can finish the series. Funny thing is, when I read The Dead-Tossed Waves, for some reason I thought that the final book wouldn’t be out for a while so I was just waiting. Then a few months ago I realized that it had already been out for a long time! Anyway, here’s my teaser.

The Dark and Hollow Places, by Carrie Ryan

The Dark and Hollow Places, by Carrie Ryan

From The Dark and Hollow Places, by Carrie Ryan

It’s easy to see that she’s close to the end — when the infection will kill her. I glance down again at the pile of bodies below, their feeble moans filtering into the night. She’ll be one of them soon. If she’s lucky someone will take care of her before she turns. If she isn’t…

I swallow.

With a sickening heaviness in my stomach I realize I’m the one who’s going to have to kill her.

This scene was an interesting one; a nice introduction to the kind of person that Annah is. So far I’m really enjoying this book. It’s been a while since I read a zombie novel!

10 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday – The Dark and Hollow Places

    • Yeah, this series is a good one. I was initially drawn in by the name of the first book: The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Normally zombies aren’t my thing, but I like these books! :)

  1. Don’t you love that! When you think you have to wait for a book, but there it is! haha.
    The book sounds really intense! I’d like to think I’m make it through a zombie apocalypse but probably not haha

    Here’s my TT at Bookmunchies (:

So, what do YOU think?