Waiting on Wednesday – The Nightmare Affair, by Mindee Arnett

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating.

The Nightmare Affair, by Mindee ArnettComing March 5, 2013

16-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare. Literally. Dusty is a magical being who feeds on human dreams.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder. The setting is Arkwell.

And then it comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

Add to Goodreads

Seriously, I am in love with the cover art for The Nightmare Affair. Mindee Arnett has one badass marketing team because the cover, along with all of her swag is just freaking awesome. I mean, look at it! Oh, you want me to talk about more than the cover? Well, secondly, the title is just perfect, right? Such a charming phrase that it instantly intrigued me. The premise is definitely interesting, because I’ve always been fascinated by all things dream-related. Okay, I don’t think I’m being especially coherent right now, so I’m just going to go back to looking at the cover.

25 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – The Nightmare Affair, by Mindee Arnett

    • Yeah, it’s great when the cover matches the contents of the book. Here’s to hoping that will be the case with this one. (When we finally get to read it 6 months from now! :)

    • Yeah, I’ve been seeing it all over the place, which is why I got so excited about it. It was only recently that I realized how far away the publication date is, lol.

    • Yes, there are definite similarities between this cover and the one for Unspoken – thanks for pointing that out! I just love them both. I can’t wait to see the covers for the rest of the books in both series.

    • HAHAHA! Yeah, beware. I’ve now gotten in so deep that I know I’ll never be able to read them all. Trying to fall back a little and only read the ones I want to read the MOST, and only buy them when I’m ready to read them (that doesn’t always happen, lol).

    • I know, I love Goodreads! I can’t remember where I found that button, but I know it took a while to find it, lol. I’ll look for it again and let you know. :)

  1. Hmm.. I’ve tried commenting a couple of times so let’s see if this one works!

    I love drooling over cover art, I know that you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover but I truly think it’s an art form and I like seeing what the publishers come up with to visually represent their books.

    Also, how did you get that “add to goodreads” button? I love it! Goodreads is great, it’s such a fun way to organize the books I’ve read and want to read.

    • I agree about the covers. It’s definitely an art! And I do find it difficult to want to read a book with a cover I dislike. Sad, but true. :(

      As for the goodreads button, I think all I did was save the image from somewhere else (I see this button all over other blogs, but I have no idea where it originated). Then all I do is just add the image to my blog post and link it to the goodreads page for whatever book I’m blogging about.

  2. Pingback: End of the Year Book Survey – 2012 | Another Novel Read

So, what do YOU think?