Authors Tweet the Best Things

The deeper I’ve gotten into the world of books and reading and writing and everything, the more I’ve become interested in the authors themselves. Years ago I was only interested in the books, but now I’m quite curious about the people who write them — especially the ones I like! These days, it’s common to find authors who also blog regularly, or post daily on twitter, or maintain a lively Facebook presence. Not to mention all of the book signings and other book events that seem to happen on a weekly basis – especially in the YA fiction world! Basically, they’re much more “available” to the readers.

There are several writers I’ve come to adore as people and respect as professionals and creatives, without ever having read any of their books (yet). And then, of course, there are other authors whose work I adore and so I follow them on twitter and read their blog posts because I just want to know more. And folks, these authors… they say some of the best things. Note: All of the tweets highlighted here are clickable, so you can follow these inspiring tweeters, too!

This entire blog post was inspired by a tweet from Victoria Schwab that just kind of made my day.

veschwabquote

“I found a quote I really liked and then I saw that it was from Nicholas Sparks and was like nooooooooooooooo.”

I mean, it’s just so hilariously… just like something I might say. (Nothing against Nicholas Sparks or his fans; he’s just not for me. And apparently not for her either.)

Then there are the adorable, word-nerdy things that Laini Taylor muses about.

lainitaylorquote1

“I wish that ‘wist’ meant what it should mean, which is: the thing that you are full of when you are ‘wistful.’ Dumb ole language.”

lainitaylorquote2

“Imagine, then I could say ‘wist’ where right now ‘wistfulness’ or ‘melancholy yearning’ are the two clumsy choices. Oh, you sentence.”

We also have the clever, entertaining, and oh-so-metal Jay Kristoff who says things like this.

jaykristoffquote1

“I would give this kid, like, seventeen A+’s and a high five (which is why i’ll never be a science teacher)” [The attached image shows an assignment to name 4 heavy metals and their symbols. The student’s answers are Metallica, Poison, Slayer, Megadeth, and Anthrax.]

We can’t forget Dan Krokos with his nerdy sarcasm that I find quite amusing.

dankrokosquote1

“UGH science is so boring. ‘Form a hypothesis first’ How about we just see what happens UGH.”

To me, that was hilarious. And even funnier? Half the people who responded to this tweet thought he was serious, and he had to keep explaining that it was a joke. I laugh, I laugh.

Last, but definitely not least, we have the delightfully quirky Maggie Stiefvater.

mstiefvaterquote1

“I’m a grown-up and you’re not the boss of me and you can’t make me brush my teeth OR eat my greens OR read the preface.”

Because seriously, who actually wants to read the preface? I just want to get to the GOODS.

Okay, this was SO much fun. I have so many more authors that I enjoy following on twitter, so I will definitely be making this a regular feature. Woohoo!

9 thoughts on “Authors Tweet the Best Things

  1. I loved reading this post, it was so much fun. Honestly I don’t pay that much attention to authors on Twitter, but maybe I should because they were fabulously funny tweets! :)

    • Yay, I’m glad you liked it! I used to feel the same way as you. It really depends on the author, though. I’ve found that some only use it to market their books, but others use it just like “regular” twitter users: to comment on things, share cool stuff, and have interesting conversations. :)

  2. I love authors on Twitter! Maggie Stiefvater had one recently about loving being an adult because that meant she could fulfill her child goal of having pudding for breakfast lol!

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (27) | Reading In Winter

So, what do YOU think?

