Waiting on Wednesday – Doll Bones by Holly Black

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating.

Doll Bones by Holly BlackComing May 7, 2013

A doll that may be haunted leads three friends on a thrilling adventure in this delightfully creepy novel from the New York Times bestselling co-creator of the Spiderwick Chronicles.

Zach, Poppy, and Alice have been friends forever. And for almost as long, they’ve been playing one continuous, ever-changing game of pirates and thieves, mermaids and warriors. Ruling over all is the Great Queen, a bone-china doll cursing those who displease her. But they are in middle school now. Zach’s father pushes him to give up make-believe, and Zach quits the game. Their friendship might be over, until Poppy declares she’s been having dreams about the Queen—and the ghost of a girl who will not rest until the bone-china doll is buried in her empty grave.

Zach and Alice and Poppy set off on one last adventure to lay the Queen’s ghost to rest. But nothing goes according to plan, and as their adventure turns into an epic journey, creepy things begin to happen. Is the doll just a doll or something more sinister? And if there really is a ghost, will it let them go now that it has them in its clutches?

Add to Goodreads

First, I was drawn in by the cover (such a great art style!). Then I saw the title, which is definitely intriguing. Then I saw the name Holly Black at the bottom and got excited. Admittedly, I haven’t read her curseworkers series OR the Spiderwick Chronicles, but I did read her fairy series (Tithe, Valiant, Ironside) and I really enjoyed it. This book sounds like a lot of fun, and I can’t wait to read it! I’m glad she’s doing something new now (I guess the curseworkers just doesn’t interest me…).

17 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – Doll Bones by Holly Black

  1. I totally just added this to my TBR based on your post. That cover is fantastic. And I have always been creeped out by haunted dolls like this. I haven’t read any Holly Black before, but maybe this will be the first!

    • Oooh, excellent! I’m glad my post was able to entice you! Yeah, Holly Black is pretty popular — I didn’t even realize she was behind the Spiderwick Chronicles until I learned about Doll Bones! Cheers. :D

  2. I saw this one the other week, but I’m not a fan of Holly Black. I tried her fairy series and just gave up, it really wasn’t my type of book. But I hope you enjoy this one! :)

    • Well, every book isn’t for everyone, eh? :)

      This will be interesting, I think. I’ve noticed that the more I read, the more I actually grow or change as a reader. Books/writers that I used to like years ago… now I’m not so impressed by them anymore. It’s been years since I read Holly Black, so I’m curious to see how I’ll process this new one. Especially since it seems to be middle-grade.

      • I know exactly what you mean about the more you read the more it takes for a book to impress you. It takes quite a lot more these days for a book to really impress me and I feel like some books I love years ago wouldn’t now.

    • Yeah, I think this is “middle grade” which I usually steer myself away from. But then I try to remember that Harry Potter started out as middle grade, so that means I might still like it. ;D

So, what do YOU think?

